Waves, Turbulence, and Large-scale Structures in Rotating Magnetic Fluids: Above & Beyond Geophysical Fluid Dynamics

Monday, September 10, 2018 to Friday, September 14, 2018


About the Workshop               Logistics               Abstracts           Agenda           Banquet 

Links to presentations and videos are embedded in the agenda.


This workshop is by invitation.

Description: Rotation plays a dominant role in a wide range of areas of astrophysical and geophysical fluid dynamics, from the Earth’s atmosphere and oceans, planetary atmospheres, and planetary interiors through solar, stellar, and galactic dynamics to astrophysical discs. Nevertheless, our knowledge and understanding of the phenomena of turbulence, waves, structures, and multiscale dynamics in magnetized rotating plasma remain rudimentary, and they have not received the attention they deserve in spite of many successful developments in geophysical fluid dynamics. Recently, the multidisciplinary approach in magnetohydrodynamics research has been increasing as well as the range of temporal and spatial scales on which astrophysical—namely solar phenomena—are observed by modern instrumentation and monitoring systems. This was discussed in the GTP 2016 workshop. There is a pressing need for new initiatives to further develop the foundations of our understanding of the multiscale phenomena of magnetized turbulence, waves, and large-scale dynamics in presence of rotation to deepen the analogies with geophysical fluid dynamics, find key differences, and advance new frontiers of research. The goal of this workshop is to bring together leading experts from the geophysical and astrophysical communities to discuss basic aspects of the physics of turbulence, instabilities, and waves in the context of rotating plasma, large-scale flows, predictability, and to foster novel developments both in astrophysical and geophysical fluid dynamics.

The workshop is sponsored by NSF and GTP.

Scientific Organizing Committee:


Arakel Petrosyan (IKI) Chair

Phil Armitage (CU Boulder/JILA)

Mausumi Dikpati (NCAR/HAO)

Scott McIntosh (NCAR/HAO)

Peter Sullivann (NCAR/MMM)

Joe Tribbia (NCAR/CGD)


Local Organizing Committee:


Mausumi Dikpati (NCAR/HAO)

Kris Marwitz (MMM)

Sheryl Shapiro (NCAR/HAO) 


Confirmed Participants:


Evan Anders, University of Colorado

Jonathan Aurnou, UCLA

Amitava  Bhattacharjee, Princeton University 

Eric Blackman, University of Rochester

Eberhard Bodenschatz, Max Planck Institute fro Dynamics and Self-Organization

Guido Boffetta, University of Torino

Axel Brandenburg, Nordita & CU

Benjamin Brown, University of Colorado

Nicholas Brummell, University of California, Santa Cruz

Keaton Burns, MIT

Michael Calkins, University of Colorado, Boulder

Hao Cao, Harvard University

Herman Clercx, Eindhoven University of Technology, Eindhoven, The Netherlands

Steven Cranmer, University of Colorado Boulder

Mausumi Dikpati, HAO/NCAR

Keren Duer, Weizmann Institute of Science

Yuhong Fan, HAO/NCAR

Nicholas Featherstone, University of Colorado

Federico Gasperini, NCAR/HAO

Sarah Gibson, NCAR/HAO

Andrew Gilbert, University of Exeter

Laurent Gizon, Max-Plank Institute for Solar System Research

Ian Grooms, University of Colorado, Boulder

Lee Gunderson, Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

Lia Hankla, University of Colorado

John Hawley, University of Virginia

Susanne Horn, UCLA

Keith Julien, University of Colorado at Boulder

Yohai Kaspi, Weizmann Institute of Science

Hubert Klahr, Max-Planck-Institute for Astronomy

Daniel Lathrop, University of Maryland

Michael Le Bars, CNRS, Aix-Marseille Univ, IRPHE, Marseille, France

Daniel Lecoanet, Princeton University

Geoffroy Lesur, IPAG/Univ. Grenoble Alpes

Robert Loper, Air Force Institute of Technology

Philip Marcus, University of California at Berkeley

Stefano Maffei, University of Colorado

Hiroaki Matsui, UC Davis

Scott McIntosh, NCAR/HAO

Charles Meneveau, Johns Hopkins University

Åke Nordlund, University of Copenhagen

Ryan Orvedahl, University of Colorado

Arakel Petrosyan, Space Research Institute of the Russian Academy of Sciences

Annick Pouquet, LASP & NCAR/CISL

Ralph Pudritz, McMaster University

Tayler Quist, University of Colorado

Mark Rast, Department of Astrophysical and Planetary Sciences, University of Colorado

Matthias Rempel, NCAR/HAO

Michel Rieutord, Institut de Recherche en Astrophysique et Planétologie

Duane Rosenberg, NOAA

Rick Salmon, University of California, San Diego

Adam Showman, University of Arizona

Jacob Simon, University of Colorado

Valentin Skoutnev, Princeton University

Krista Soderlund, University of Texas at Austin, Institute for Geophysics

Joel Sommeria, LEGI/CNRS

Frank Stefani, Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf

Glen Stewart, University of Colorado

Peter Sullivan, NCAR

Steven Tobias, University of Leeds

Juri Toomre, JILA and Dept Astrophysical & Planetary Sciences, University of Colorado Boulder

Santiago Triana, Royal Observatory of Belgium

Joel Tribbia, NCAR 

Jeffrey Weiss, University of Colorado

Rakesh Yadav, Harvard University

Ron Yellin, Tel Aviv University

Teimuraz Zaqarashvili, Space Research Institute of Austrian Academy of Sciences, Graz, Austria