About HAO

HAO's 75th Anniversary

HAO: Past, Present, and Future
A celebration of seventy-five years of solar science excellence

HAO 75th Celebration Speaker Videos
Click on playlist icon in upper-left of video to see list of all videos in the series

HAO 75th Celebration Photo Gallery
Hover over image to pause slideshow
Richard Munro
Giuliana de Toma and Roberto Casini
Scott McIntosh introduces Tom Bogdan (HAO History)
NCAR Director Jim Hurrell presents an overview
Steve Tomczyk and others enjoying HAO People Posters
Sue Lepri on "The Coming Renaissance of Inner Heliosphere Observations from Solar Orbiter and Solar Probe"
Amy Knack and Vic Tisone
Kim Malville, Sabine Schaffner and Bob MacQueen
Sheryl Shapiro
Bill Murtagh discusses the societal and economic impact of severe space weather
Hanne Mauriello, Scott McIntosh and Michael Knoelker
HAO organizing committee
Bill Mankin, Art Richmond, Greg Kopp, Jean and Keith Watson
Tom Berger and Terry Onsager
Larisza Krista listens
Fran Bagenal talks with Michael Knoelker
Howard Singer
Terry Onsager presents "The Space Weather Mission: Research to Applications"
Doug Duncan
Art Richmond and Dan Marsh
Bruce Lites, Tom Bogdan and Matthias Rempel
Tom Bogdan presents the early history of HAO
Ben Foster and Scott Sewell
Ricky Egeland and Vic Tisone
Terry Onsager presents "The Space Weather Mission: Research to Applications"
Doug Duncan presents "The Great American Total Solar Eclipse of Aug. 21, 2017"
Valentin M. Pillet on "DKIST Status and Plans"
Paul Seagraves and Richard Hansen
Bruce Lites, Tom Bogdan and Matthias Rempel
Serena Criscouli and Regner Tampedach
Joanne Graham and Connie Sawyer
Pat White and Mary Skumanich
Ryan McGranaghan presents his TED talk called "Living with a Star"
Brant Foote and Vic Tisone
Larisza Krista
Mausumi Dikpati
Paul Seagraves and Lorraine Hori
Scott McIntosh speaking
Philip Judge
Gerald Thompson
Tom Woods
Cherilynn Morrow and Tim Brown
Delores Knipp presents "Satellite Drag: Orbiting Human-made Projectiles"
Richard and Shirley Hansen
Matthias Rempel explains Sunspot Modeling
Allen Stueben engineer from Mauna Loa Solar Observatory
Judd Johnson
Bob MacQueen on "Some Personal Recollections"
Michelle Cash
Greg Card presenting "Instrumentation from the Ground and Up"
Kevin Trenberth presents "Sun and Earth's Climate"
Jim Hurrell introduces distinguished scholar Bruce Lites
Christine Guzy and Lorraine Hori
Scott McIntosh and Bob MacQueen
Dennis Gallagher and Ron Lull with HAO equipment
Kim Malville and Greg Kopp
Kathy Strand, Susie and Ben Foster
Marty Snow
Joan Burkepile and Alice Lecinski
Bill Murtagh on "The National Space Weather Strategy"
Pat and Richard White
Michael Knoelker presents "Coronascope: Back to the Future"
Doug Duncan on historical and future "Total Solar Eclipses"
Terry Onsager and Stan Solomon
Alfred de Wijn
Lew House, Douglas Gough and Andy Skumanich
Kim Nesnadny
Michael and Kate Thompson
Bob MacQueen shares "Some Personal Recollections"
Branden Larson, Phillip Slaymaker, Dennis Gallagher, Allen Steuben and Ben Berkey
Andy Watt, Qian Wu and Pete Nelson
Bill Mankin and Dick White
Tom Woods on "Jack Eddy’s Study of the Maunder Minimum""
Shirley and Richard Hansen on "Mauna Loa"
Bill Murtagh
Steve Tomcyzk and Jack Harvey
Vic Tisone and Karen Simmons
Delores Knipp
Jack Gosling
Roberto Casini, Phil Judge and Ilia Roussev
Margarida Cunha, Pedro Pena Avelino and Matthias Rempel
Lew House and Mike McGrath
Kinfe Teweldebirham
Tom Berger on the "History and Future of Space Weather Forecasting"
Fran Bagenal presents "From Jupiter to Pluto"
Marsha MacQueen, Mike McGrath and Bob MacQueen
Veda Emmett and Susan Chavez
Museum displays
Kevin Trenberth on "Sun and Earth‘s Climate"
Shirley Hansen
Bill Murtagh presents "The National Space Weather Strategy"
Lorraine Hori, Judd Johnson, Leonard Sitongia and Christine Guzy
Conversation and food
Lara Waldrop on "Using Small Satellites to Answer Big Questions in Solar-Terrestrial Science"
Tom Bogdan and Andy Skumanich
Liying Qian
Ricky Egeland observing
Jean and Keith Watson
Four HAO Directors:

Scott McIntosh (current), Michael Thompson, Bob McQueen and Michael Knoelker

Kevin Dalmasse, Larisza Krista, Alberto Sainz-Dalda and Paul Bryans
Alice Lecinski
Alfred de Wijn
Rebecca Centeno Elliott on "CSAC: Building Capability for Next Generation Observatories"
Nick Pedatella and Delores Knipp
Judd Johnson, Ron Lull, Alice Lecinski and David Elmore
Kathy Strand
Valentin M. Pillet and Matthias Rempel
Juri Toomre on "Joys of Convection and Dynamos in Our Nearest Star"
Art Richmond on "Upper Atmosphere Research at HAO"
Mark Miesch
Hanne Mauriello, Joanne Graham, Tammy Tomczyk and Veda Emmett
Panel Discussion: Building Capability
Uno cerveza por favor
Delores Knipp on "HAO's Contributions"
Art Poland
Observing the Sun on CG1 patio
Bruce Lites delivers distinguished scholar talk
Kim Malville, Peter Gilman and Ernie Hildner
Lesley Tarletoon Julian and Shirley Hansen
Anna Malanushenko, Sarah Gibson and Joanne Graham
Ricky Egeland and Greg Card
Delightful Treats
Giuliana de Toma, Dick White and Liz Hoswell
Congressman Ed Perlmutter, Space and Energy Sub-Committees and the New Democrat Coalition Energy Task Force Chair
Alexandra Tritschler and Michael Knoelker
Pete Nelson enjoys HAO's museum
Steven Cranmer on "Solar Magnetism and Activity: Progress, Puzzles, and Prospects"
Deep Doo Doo
Joan Burkepile and Ian Hewins