Turbulence and Waves in Flows Dominated by Rotation: Lessons from Geophysics and Perspectives in Space Physics and Astrophysics

Monday, August 15, 2016 to Friday, August 19, 2016

National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR), 3080 Center Green Drive (CG1), Boulder, Colorado, USA

About the Workshop               Registration               Logistics               Abstracts           Agenda           Photos

GTP Workshop Group Photo

PDF and video presentations are available from links on the Agenda page

Description: Considerable progress is made recently in understanding turbulence, instabilities and waves in rotating geophysical systems. Nevertheless our knowledge and understanding of the similar phenomena in magnetized rotating plasma remain rudimentary and have not received attention they deserve in spite of many applications in solar, stellar and space weather physics, and in astrophysical discs.  This is in part because our theoretical efforts and modeling approaches are concentrated mainly (although not exclusively) on the dynamo problem rather than on developing of solid picture of space and astrophysical objects variability in different time scales from millennial to shorter-term. There is a pressing need for new initiatives to further develop the foundations of our understanding of the multi-scale phenomena of magnetized turbulence and waves along with geophysical fluid dynamics.

The goal of this workshop is to bring together leading experts from the geophysical and astrophysical communities to discuss basic aspects of the physics of turbulence, instabilities, and waves in the context of rotating plasma large-scale flows predictability, and to foster novel developments both in astrophysical and geophysical fluid dynamics.

The workshop is sponsored by NSF and GTP.

Scientific Organizing Committee:


Phil Armitage (CU Boulder/JILA)

Mausumi Dikpati (NCAR/HAO)

Scott McIntosh (NCAR/HAO)

Arakel Petrosyan (IKI)

Peter Sullivann (NCAR/MMM)

Joe Tribbia (NCAR/CGD)


Local Organizing Committee:


Mausumi Dikpati (NCAR/HAO)

Kris Marwitz (MMM)

Sheryl Shapiro (NCAR/HAO) 


Tentative list of confirmed participants:



Amitava Bhattacharjee, Princeton Plasma Physics Lab

Andreas Tilgner, Institute of Geophysics, University of Goettingen

Arakel Petrosyan, Space Research Institute of the Russian Academy of Sciences (IKI)

Axel Brandenburg, LASp, APS, & JILA, CU Boulder

Ben Brown, CU, CU Boulder

Bidya Binay Karak, NCAR/HAO

Brian Farrell, Harvard University

Daniel Lecoanet, UC Berkeley

Edgar Knobloch, UC Berkeley

Eric Blackman, University of Rochester

Fabien Goderferd, CNRS Université de Lyon - Fluid Mechanics and Acoustics Laboratory

Farrukh Nauman, Niels Bohr Institute

Francisco J. Beron-Vera, RSMAS, University of Miami

Gary Glatzmaier, UC Santa Cruz

Glen Stewart, LASP/CU Boulder

Hubert Klahr, Max-Planck-Institute for Astronomy

Jake Simon, SWRI

James Cho, Queen Mary University of London

Jeff Parker, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Jeffrey Weiss, CU Boulder

Joe Tribbia, NCAR/CGD

Joel Sommeria, LEGI, Grenoble

John Hawley, University of Virginia

John Papaloizou, University of Cambridge

John Shebalin, NASA Johnson Space Center

Juri Toomre, JILA & APS, CU Boulder

Katepalli Sreenivasan, NYU

Laurent Gizon, Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research, Göttingen

Lee Gunderson, Princeton University

Marco Velli, UCLA

Mark Miesch, NCAR/HAO

Mark Rast, CU Boulder

Mausumi Dikpati, NCAR/HAO

Mei Zhang, National Astronomical Observatories, Chinese Academy of Sciences

Michael Calkins, CU Boulder

Nick Featherstone, CU Boulder

Patrick Diamond, UC San Diego

Paul Williams, University of Reading

Peter Davidson, University of Cambridge

Peter Read, University of oxford

Peter Sullivan, NCAR/MMM

Phil Armitage, CU Boulder/JILA

Philip Marcus, UC Berkeley

Rick Salmon, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, UCSD

Robert Ecke, LANL

Scott McIntosh, NCAR/HAO

Steve Tobias, University of Leeds

Steven Cranmer, LASP/CU Boulder

Stuart Bale, UC Berkeley

Travis Metcalfe, SSI

Xiang-Yu Li, Nordita & Stockholm University

Yohai Kaspi, Weizmann Institute of Science 

Yoshifumi Kimura, Nagoya University

Yuhong Fan, NCAR/HAO