Joint Hinode-11/IRIS-8 Science Meeting, Seattle, WA

Tuesday, May 30, 2017 to Friday, June 2, 2017

The 11th Hinode and 8th IRIS science meetings will be held jointly from Tuesday May 30 to Friday June 2, 2017, at the Bell Harbor Conference Center in Seattle, Washington.

The joint meeting will bring together scientists interested in connections between the solar photosphere, chromosphere, transition region, and corona.

Coordinations between Hinode and IRIS have occurred since the launch of IRIS in 2013, and these coordinations have provided new insights into how energy is deposited into the solar chromosphere and corona. This meeting will serve to bring together the worldwide solar physics community to discuss such research, mostly focusing on results based on Hinode and IRIS data. These studies are complemented by the use of data from other space-based and ground-based observations across a broad range of wavelengths, as well as by utilizing detailed numerical simulations of evolving radiative plasmas for synthesizing the quantities observed by Hinode and IRIS. All of these topics, plus some perspectives on future research with new instrumentation coming online in the next few years, will be examined during the course of the meeting. 


March 1, 2017 – CLOSED Student & Early-Career Scientist Travel Support Deadline 
March 21, 2017 – CLOSED Abstract Submission Deadline
March 21, 2017 – CLOSED Early Registration Ends $500
March 22–May 29 Late Registration $600
The registration fee includes a continental breakfast, buffet lunch, morning and afternoon coffee and snacks, and the Monday evening welcome reception.
Monday, May 29 – 4:00-7:00 pm Registration & Check In @ Bell Harbor

                                5:30-7:00 pm Welcome Reception @ Bell Harbor

Tuesday, May 30 – Meeting Starts 9:00 am

Thursday, June 1 – Evening Banquet – Blake Island Cruise/Dinner

Friday, June 2 – Meeting Ends 5:30 pm

Saturday, June 3 – Hinode SWG Meeting – By Invitation Only



Jaro Dudik (Czech Academy of Sciences)
Luc Rouppe van der Voort (Univ. Oslo)


Thomas R. Ayres (Univ. Colorado)
Bin Chen (NJIT)
Sanja Danilovic (MPS)
Jaime de la Cruz Rodriguez (Stockholm Univ.)
Lindsay Glesener (Univ. Minnesota)
Lijia Guo (LMSAL)
Louise Harra (UCL)
Haruhisa Iijima (Nagoya Univ.)
Graham Kerr (Univ. Glasgow)
Ying Li (Nanjing Univ.)
Valentin Martinez Pillet (NSO)
Masumi Shimojo (NAOJ)
Angelos Vourlidas (JHU / APL)