Maura Hagan is one of an historic number of women elected to the National Academy of Sciences

Friday, May 3, 2019

Maura Hagan, HAO/NCAR emerita, is among 100 U.S. scientists and 25 international associates elected this year to the National Academy of Sciences, one of the world’s premier academic institutions. Forty percent of the newly elected members are women—the most ever elected in any one year to date.

Photograph of Maura Hagan
Maura Hagan, HAO emerita, and dean of science, College of Science, Utah State University of Logan.

The NAS provides science advice to the U.S. federal government and other national and international policy-making organizations. The appointments were announced April 30 in a news release, which stated membership is “widely accepted as a mark of excellence in sciences and is considered one of the highest honors a scientist can receive.”

See "News from the National Academy of Sciences."

Maura E Hagan is currently serving as the Dean of the College of Science at Utah State since 2015. Hagan left her post at the National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR) where she mostly served as interim director since 2013. Prior to that, she was deputy director at the same organization. Hagan began her career at NCAR in 1992 when she was appointed as an entry-level scientist in the High Altitude Observatory (HAO). She was promoted to senior scientist in 2003.

See "HAO Staff" page.