Famous Solar-Stellar Scientists

Solar-Stellar Scientists specialize in the study of the Sun and stars. These scientists are devoted to understanding star and planet formation and the physical processes in the Sun, stars, and stellar systems. Solar-Stellar physics includes many disciplines of pure physics, astrophysics, and computer science, including fluid dynamics, plasma physics including magnetohydrodynamics, seismology, particle physics, atomic physics, nuclear physics, stellar evolution, space physics, spectroscopy, radiative transfer, applied optics, signal processing, computer vision, computational physics, stellar physics and solar astronomy. It is believed that changes in the solar atmosphere and solar activity can have a major impact on Earth's climate. The Sun also provides a "physical laboratory" for the study of plasma physics.

Solar physics has its roots in ancient China where Chinese astronomers tracked lunar and solar cycles and observed solar phenomena such as solar eclipses and visible sunspots. Historical record keeping was scarce prior to 720 BC, but during the next 240 year period, 37 solar eclipses were noted. Babylonians (modern day Syria) were keeping records from about 1300 BC of solar eclipses as well. According to Greek manuscripts the Egyptians also had the knowledge to predict solar eclipses.

Astronomical knowledge flourished in the Islamic world during medieval times. Many observatories were built in cities from Damascus to Baghdad, where detailed astronomical observations were taken. Further astronomical advancements, during the renaissance period, lead to the significant proposition that planets revolve around the Sun and not around the Earth, as it was believed at the time.

Portrait Gallery:

Aristotle image
(ca 384–322 BC)
Aristarchus of Samos (310–230 BC) image
Aristarchus of Samos
(310–230 BC)
 Ibn al-Haytham Alhazen (ca. 965–1040) image
Ibn al-Haytham Alhazen
(ca 965–1040)
Tycho Brahe (1546-1601) image
Tycho Brahe
Richard Christopher Carrington image
Richard Christopher Carrington
Jean Dominique image
Jean Dominique Cassini
Christoph Clavius (1537–1612)
Christoph Clavius
Nicolaus Copernicus image
Nicolaus Copernicus
René Descartes (1596–1650) image
René Descartes
Johannes Fabricius (1587–1616) image
Johannes Fabricius
Joseph von Fraunhofer (1787–1826) image
Joseph von Fraunhofer
Galileo Galilei (1564–1642)  image
Galileo Galilei
George Ellery Hale (1868–1938) image
George Ellery Hale
Thomas Harriot (ca 1560-1621 BC) image
Thomas Harriot
(ca 1560-1621 BC)
John Herschel (1792–1871) image
John Herschel
Frederick William Herschel (1738–1822) image
Frederick William Herschel
Johannes Hevelius (1611–1687) image
Johannes Hevelius
Illustration of Hypatia of Alexandria
Hypatia of Alexandria
(370–415 CE)
Jules Janssen (1824-1907) image
Jules Janssen
Johannes Kepler (1571-1630) image
Johannes Kepler
Gustav Kirchhoff (1824-1887) image
Gustav Kirchhoff
Samuel P. Langley (1834–1906) image
Samuel P. Langley
Pierre Simon de Laplace (1749–1827) image
Pierre Simon de Laplace
J. Norman Lockyer (1836–1920) image
J. Norman Lockyer
Bernard Lyot (1897–1952) image
Bernard Lyot
Image of Annie Scott Dill Maunder
Annie Maunder
Image of Edward Walter Maunder
Edward Maunder
Face with long gray curls, Maria Mitchell (1818–1889)
Maria Mitchell
Isaac Newton (1642–1727) image
Isaac Newton
Cecelia Payne (1900–1979) image
Cecila Payne
Claudius Ptolemy (100–170) image
Claudius Ptolemy
Johann Wilhelm Ritter (1776–1810) image
Johann Wilhelm Ritter
Christoph Scheiner (1575–1650) image
Christoph Scheiner
Johann Schroeter (1745–1816) image
Johann Schroeter
S. Heinrich Schwabe (1789–1875) image
S. Heinrich Schwabe
Angelo Secchi (1818–1878) image
Angelo Secchi (1818–1878)
Shoemaker at work dressed in an orange sweater and short-cropped gray hair, smiling
Carolyn Jean Spellmann Shoemaker
Charlotte Moore Sitterly with dark hair and dark framed glasses
Charlotte Moore Sitterly
Gustav Spörer (1822–1895) image
Gustav Spörer
Natalia N. Stepanian (1931–2018)
Natalia N. Stepanian
Hermann Carl Vogel (1841–1907) image
Hermann Carl Vogel
Rudolf Wolf (1816–1893) image
Rudolf Wolf
William Hyde Wollaston (1766–1828) image
William Hyde Wollaston
Charles A. Young (1834–1908) image
Charles A. Young